since Grace permits...

I Got a Ring!!

1 John 2, 28 And now, dear children, continue in him, so that when he appears we may be confident and unashamed before him at his coming. (NIV)

It is about me and Christ. A sign of the journey I started five years ago, when I trusted and believed, and chose to give Him my all. It is wonderful. Also, it is a gift I have been meaning to get myself since my baptism last year, and my joining of a local assembly and breaking bread. What is more important though, is the true essence of my heart. Whether the ring is on my finger or not, what matters most is the Christ I am living. It would be shameful to hold up such a blatant proclamation but be of low walk. So each day, I hope to grow better and better in faith.

20151201_1159091
My new ring..! Christ in me.

I could have bought a ring with an engraved promise of Waiting on it, but rather I chose the fish symbol, because I have long since abandoned the Wait *Further explanation on that coming soon in another post*. The Fish symbol or the Ichthys/Ichtus, was used by the early church when persecution was so rampant, as an icon of fellowship. In Greek, it reads Iesous Christos Theou Yios Soter, that is, “Jesus Christ, Son of God, Saviour.”   Christians used it to identify one another, mark meeting places and tombs. It is also believed that if one Christian travelling down the road met a stranger and drew it on the sand, and the other drew it too, it was a sign of being in good company.

Today, my Ichthys ring means Jesus Christ in me (Colossians 1:27), my Saviour. Nothing else could have purged me of my impurities other than Him. All the things that he has done for me, the death of the Cross, make me the young woman I am today. Fanny Crosby couldn’t have written such a better “Redeemed! How I love to proclaim it,” without Jesus Christ. In the end it was all for me, and anyone who cares to believe. The ring itself shows infinity; I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever and I have been sealed for an eternity with Him. Because I believe, not because of the ring. Apart from that, I hope this beautiful stainless steel ring on my finger will help me, not only remember who I have been made to be, but also to share Christ boldly with whomever is curious enough to ask.

 

Leave a Reply

